Experience Making a Difference

Experience Making a Difference

Madonna Della Strada

The Madonna Della Strada award is named after Sancta Maria Della Strada, the first church that St. Ignatius and the early Jesuits obtained to serve the urban poor in the center of Rome.The award honors lives that reflect the Ignatian values of direct service to the poor, and of working and educating for a more just society. This is the fourth year that IVC New England has hosted a Madonna Della Strada Ceremony.

IVC New England Della Strada Awardees


2024 (April 21)

Michael McGonagle  (Boston)

Christine Kavanagh (Providence)

Fr. Jonathan Slavinskas (Worcester)



Jim and Terry Orcutt and My Brother’s Keeper (Boston)

Thomas McMurray, SJ (Worcester)

Priests for Justice (Providence)



Beth and Meyer Chambers (Boston)

Eileen Hayes (Providence)

Frank Kartheiser (Worcester)


2021 (April 11)

Jonathan Scott – Boston

Kevin and Anne Kane – Worcester

Shannon Carroll – Providence


2019 (April 28)

Frank Carroll – Worcester

Sister Angela Daniels, CP – Providence

Joe Vallely and Kitty Ryan – Boston  


2018 (April 29)

Deb Thompson and Mary Reilly, RSM – Providence

Msgr. Frank Scollen – Worcester

Jim McCarthy – Boston


2017 (April 30)

Annette Raferty – Worcester

Colette Cook – Providence

Patrick Byrne – Boston


2016 (April 10)

Marie Therese Martin, SSJ – Worcester

Nondas Hurst Voll – Providence

Dave & Noreen Manzo – Boston


2015 (April 26)

Dan Corley – Providence

Patti and Tom Ryan – Worcester

Dave Gill, SJ – Boston


2014 (April 6)

Mary McHale – Boston

St. John’s Parish/ Father John Madden – Worcester

Ann Keefe, SSJ & Joyce Flowers, RSM – Providence


2013 (April 21)

Nancy Braceland, CSJ – Boston

Fred Enman, SJ – Worcester

Henry and Carol Shelton – Providence


2012 (April 22)

Bill Waters – Providence

Si Smith, SJ – Worcester

Lena Deevy, LSA  – Boston