Volunteer Opportunities

IVC New England Possible Service Site Opportunities for 2022-2023

IVC New England projected placements for the upcoming year include:

 Boston area: 

  • Bethany Hill Place (Framingham) – development assistant (www.bethanyhillplace.org)
  • Casserly House (Roslindale) – ESOL instructor, neighborhood outreach, operational tasks (casserlyhouse.org)
  • Catholic Charities Laboure Center (South Boston) – RIS Donation Coordinator (ccab.org)
  • Cristo Rey Boston High School (Dorchester) – campus minister, classroom aide/ tutor, grant writer, office administration, gardener, and more (cristoreyboston.org)
  • The Epiphany School (Dorchester) – Early Learning Center volunteers/ middle school tutoring (epiphanyschool.com)
  • Ethos (Jamaica Plain) client account monitor or elder mental health outreach worker at Boston Money Management Program (ethocare.prg/money-management)
  • FriendshipWorks (Boston and beyond) – volunteer coordination, medical escort, friendly visiting, event planning, marketing, and more (www.fw4elders.org)
  • Haley House (Boston) – facilities manager (www.haleyhouse.org
  • Hearth, Inc. (Boston) – volunteer activities coordinators (hearth-home.org
  • Ignatian Spirituality Project (ISP) – women’s program coordinator (www.ispretreats.org)
  • Immaculate Conception School (Revere) – ELL educator (icrevere.org)
  • International Institute of New England (Boston) – multiple opportunities (iine.org)
  • Monika Foundation (Everett) – virtual position: fundraising, grant writing, or website development, or family visiting in Everett (www.piayiti.org/monika-foundatin-inc)
  • My Brother’s Keeper (Easton) – food delivery/van driving (mybrotherskeeper.org)
  • Nurtury Early Education (Boston/Cambridge) – program support assistants (nurtury.boston.org)
  • Friends of the Rafael Hernandez School (Roxbury) – support and enrichment volunteer (rafaelhernandezk8.org)S
  • Project Hope (Roxbury) – English language assessment volunteer (www.prohope.org)
  • Springwell, Inc (Waltham) – emergency food delivery to homebound seniors through Home Delivered Drivers Program (springwell.com)
  • UU Urban Ministry (Roxbury) – workforce development, after-school, peace garden, food distribution (uuum.org)

 Rhode Island/Southeastern Massachusetts: 

Worcester area:   

  • Gateways Academy (Shrewsbury) – teaching, teacher’s aide, after school (gatewaysacademy.org)
  • Nativity School (Worcester) – receptionist or nursing/medically skilled volunteer (www.nativityworcester.org)
  • Pernet Family Health (Worcester) – administrative assistant/fund development, nurse, fatherhood program, parent aid (pernetfamilyhealth.org)
  • St. John’s Parish (Worcester) – food program (www.stjohnsworcester.org)
  • Urban Missionaries of Our Lady of Hope (Worcester) – IT support, food distribution manager, social media technician (urbanmissionaries.com)

 National and Other Regional (Partnering with IVC New England):

  • Jesuit World-Wide Learning – collegiate level teaching, youth facilitator of sports, fundraising and development positions virtually with Jesuit international program for designated periods of time (jwl.org)

Ignatian Volunteers donate two days per week of service from September to June and engage in monthly spiritual reflection with other volunteers and with a spiritual reflector. Contact Dave Hinchen, IVC NE Regional Director for information or application: dhinchen@ivcusa.org/ 617-571-3838. Volunteer Opportunities with IVC New England will be updated regularly on our website: www.ivcusa.org/newengland

(Updated September 23, 2022)