Experience Making a Difference

Experience Making a Difference

Madonna Della Strada Award Ceremony

Madonna Della Strada

The Madonna Della Strada award is named after Sancta Maria Della Strada, the first church that St. Ignatius and the early Jesuits obtained to serve the urban poor in the center of Rome. The award honors lives that reflect the Ignatian values of direct service to the poor, and of working and educating for a more just society. This is the fourth year that IVC New England has hosted a Madonna Della Strada Ceremony.

IVC New England Della Strada Awardees

2024 (April 21)

Michael McGonagle  (Boston)

Christine Kavanagh (Providence)

Fr. Jonathan Slavinskas (Worcester)


Jim and Terry Orcutt and My Brother’s Keeper (Boston)

Thomas McMurray, SJ (Worcester)

Priests for Justice (Providence)


Beth and Meyer Chambers (Boston)

Eileen Hayes (Providence)

Frank Kartheiser (Worcester)

2021 (April 11) 

Jonathan Scott – Boston 

Kevin and Anne Kane – Worcester 

Shannon Carroll – Providence 

2019 (April 28) Frank Carroll – Worcester 

Sister Angela Daniels, CP – Providence 

Joe Vallely and Kitty Ryan – Boston   

2018 (April 29) 

Deb Thompson and Mary Reilly, RSM – Providence 

Msgr. Frank Scollen – Worcester 

Jim McCarthy – Boston 

2017 (April 30) 

Annette Raferty – Worcester 

Colette Cook – Providence 

Patrick Byrne – Boston 

2016 (April 10) 

Marie Therese Martin, SSJ – Worcester 

Nondas Hurst Voll – Providence 

Dave & Noreen Manzo – Boston 

2015 (April 26) 

Dan Corley – Providence 

Patti and Tom Ryan – Worcester 

Dave Gill, SJ – Boston 

2014 (April 6) 

Mary McHale – Boston 

St. John’s Parish/ Father John Madden – Worcester 

Ann Keefe, SSJ & Joyce Flowers, RSM – Providence 

2013 (April 21) 

Nancy Braceland, CSJ – Boston 

Fred Enman, SJ – Worcester 

Henry and Carol Shelton – Providence 

2012 (April 22) 

Bill Waters – Providence 

Si Smith, SJ – Worcester 

Lena Deevy, LSA  – Boston