We Celebrate Our Honorees


                             Madonna Della Strada Award

2020 Joe Gilbreath

2019 Sister Carmel Lohan, RSM

2018 Most Reverend John P. Dolan, Auxiliary Bishop of San Diego

2017 Nativity Prep Academy

2016 Sr. Ann Durst, SHCJ

2014 Barry LaForge

2013 The Caster Family

2012 Rosemary Johnston

2011 Msgr. Donal Sheehan

2010 San Diego Catholic Worker

2009 Michele Dunne

2007 Fr. Gil Gentile, SJ

Sheila O’Malley Vision and Dedication Awardees

2020 Margie Carroll

2019 Pat and Ken Doyle ~ Ginger and Bob Infantino

2018 Carmela Cavero and Sr. Maureen Keegan

2017 Kathleen Murphy Spreen Christenson

The Madonna Della Strada Award is named after the first church that Ignatius and the early Jesuits obtained to serve the urban poor in the heart of Rome, the Sancta Maria Della Strada. Today, the IVC Madonna Della Strada Award is presented to a person or organization reflecting the Ignatian values of direct service to the poor and engaging in work that is dedicated to creating a just society.

The Sheila O’Malley Vision and Dedication Award honors an individual, who like Sheila O’ Malley (1949-2016) envisions the growth of IVC to serve people in need, deepen Ignatian spirituality and spread the Kingdom of God on earth everywhere. With humility, love, relentless energy, empathy and enthusiasm, the recipient of this award mentors others and leads with a sense of humor. This award is presented with joy to a person of prayer, faith and discernment.

Photos from 2018 Evening of Gratitude

Bishop John P. Dolan, recipient of the Della Strada Award, speaks at the annual Evening of Gratitude.