Experience Making a Difference

Experience Making a Difference

IVC 2024 National Information Session featuring Sr. Jean Dolores Schmidt, BVM

by | Feb 7, 2024

Ready to learn more? Join us on March 21, 2024, for our Virtual Information Session featuring Sr. Jean Dolores Schmidt, BVM.

3:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. CT /
1:30 p.m. MT / 12:30 p.m. PT

Are you retired or finished raising your family?  Do you want to give back, enrich your spiritual life, and build community with other mature adults? Through the Ignatian Volunteer Corps you can make a difference in your community while living out the values of St. Ignatius of Loyola. As a member of the IVC, you’ll have the opportunity to serve those in need one or two days a week while also participating in spiritual formation in a community of peers who share a commitment to service. Register below to learn how you can deepen your faith and make a difference in the world.

Sister Jean Dolores Schmidt is a religious sister of the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary. She has spent her entire adult life working as a teacher, administrator, and volunteer, first at elementary and grade schools in Chicago and Los Angeles, and later at Mundelein College and Loyola University. Since 1994, Sister Jean, as she is known, has served as team chaplain for Loyola’s men’s basketball team. She gained national – and international – fame in 2018 when the Ramblers went on a Cinderella run to the Final Four.  Sister Jean has been a household name ever since. In August, Sister Jean celebrated her 104rd birthday. Her book, “Wake Up With Purpose!: What I’ve Learned in My First Hundred Years” was published in 2023.

IVC connects adults with opportunities for service in their communities in the spirit of St. Ignatius of Loyola. IVC mobilizes individuals who want to use their skills and experiences to positively impact their community while also engaging in a spiritual journey of reflection and discernment. Additionally, IVC provides opportunities for personal growth, community building, and spiritual development through a faith-based lens.