2016-17 Meeting Schedule

Posted by .

 2016-2017 Community Meetings

Theme: Social Justice

Book: Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson

——–

Wednesday, September 21 – Opening Meeting

Location: Old St. Pat’s, Chicago

Fall Day of Reflection – Wednesday, October 19

Location: Old St. Pat’s, Chicago

Speaker: Fr. David Kelly, Precious Blood Ministry of Reconciliation, “Restorative Justice”

Wednesday, November 9 –St. Isaac Jogues, Hinsdale or

Wednesday, November 16 – Old St. Mary’s, Chicago  or

Thursday, November 17 – St. Alphonsus Ligouri Parish, Prospect Heights

Wednesday, December 7 – St. Isaac Jogues, Hinsdale or

Wednesday, December 14 – Old St. Mary’s, Chicago or

Thursday, December 15 – St. Alphonsus Ligouri Parish, Prospect Heights

Winter Day of Reflection – Wednesday, January 18, 2016

Location:  Old St. Patrick’s Church

Speaker: Tom Geraghty, Bluhm Legal Clinic, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law,

“Wrongful Incarceration and Death Penalty”

Wednesday, February 8 – St. Isaac Jogues, Hinsdale or

Wednesday, February 15 – Old St. Mary’s, Chicago or

Thursday, February 16 – St. Alphonsus Ligouri Parish, Prospect Heights

Wednesday, March 8 – St. Isaac Jogues, Hinsdale or

Wednesday, March 15 – Old St. Mary’s, Chicago or

Thursday, March 16 – St. Alphonsus Ligouri Parish, Prospect Heights

Spring Day of Reflection – Wednesday, April 19

Location:  Old St. Patrick’s Church, Chicago

Speakers:  Michael Gosch and Sr. Bernadine Karge, OP, “Detention of Immigrants”

Overnight Retreat – May 23 – 25

Jesuit Bellarmine Retreat House, Barrington, IL

Final Meeting – Wednesday, June 14

Old St. Patrick’s Church, Chicago

 —— 

Meeting Times, Locations and Logistics

 

Combined Meetings (September, October, January, April, and June) will feature presentations and/or guest speakers and will be approx. 10am-3pm.

Split Meetings (November, December, February, and March) will usually focus on Ignatian

Spirituality in the morning and Book Discussion in the afternoon. These split meetings are approx. 10am-2:30pm.

All meetings include Eucharist and lunch.

You are always encouraged to come early (9:30) for coffee and conversation!

—–

WEDNESDAY MEETINGS:

St. Isaac Jogues Church: 306 W. Fourth St., Hinsdale, IL 60521

Old St. Mary’s Church1500 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL  60605

Parking may be available in the school parking lot to the north of the school.  Street parking is also an option.

Old St. Patrick’s Church: 703 W. Monroe Street, Chicago, 60661

Pay public parking lots available around the church (no validated parking available through OSP).

Public transportation: 2 blocks west of Union Station

THURSDAY MEETING:

St. Alphonsus Ligouri Church411 N. Wheeling Rd, Prospect Heights, IL 60070

Please park at the back of church complex and walk through rear entrance (by main church).